Wednesday, December 17, 2014

Mission of Honor by David Weber

This is number twelve of the Honor series.  Honor Harrington plays a bit part in the continuing saga of Manticore.   Haven and Manticore, Mesa and the Solarian League are all back.   As a side bar I heard from another Weber fan than he too was frustrated to discover that Hell's Gate and Hell Hath No Fury have not planned follow up.   It reinforce the fact that  I know I was not the only one disappointed when there was no follow up (and none planned) for Hell’s Gate and Hell Hath No Fury.

There was some deep background filled in with this book.   I would not consider this a good stand alone book.  If you are not a fan of the series, I suspect you would be thoroughly confused reading this book.    It is possible that Weber has always been this wordy.   I found myself powering through some chapters as the details became tedious.   I am still a fan and still enjoy the Manticore saga but the bloom may be off the rose.  With that said, I ordered the next volume, Rising Thunder, this afternoon.  

Body of work of <a type="amzn"> David Weber </a>

This book may have been received free of charge from a publisher or a publicist. That will NEVER have a bearing on my recommendations.

No comments:

Post a Comment