Sunday, October 9, 2016

A Shattered Empire by Mitchell Hogan (Sorcery Ascendant Sequence Book 3)

Crucible of Souls was book 1 in this series and Blood of Innocents was book 2 in the series.  I raved about them both and this the final book in the sequence also deserves raves.  Note I said sequence, the author ends the story stating that it is the end of the sequence.  That is not closing out the possibility of new books following the same characters.  This is the culmination of the beginning. 

Caldan’s flawed character is really exposed in this book.   He experiences major trauma and is not proud of his reaction.  He expresses his feelings by saying, “hard times breed hard men”.   He frightens himself with what he finds in his persona.  

There are reoccurring characters that also find their stories coming to a wrap.  Some of them, unless reincarnation is involved, experience a final wrap.   The characters are rich and lushly appointed.  Hogan provides them with more than superficial characteristics and they are far more than merely a foil for Caldan.  

I repeat from early reviews, Hogan has crafted a believable society with solid structure and mysterious sub-cultures.   His characters charm and bemuse you, some will utterly disgust you.   This book too, moved at a very fast pace and will keep your interest high and your eyes wide open.  I am hoping that the word sequence is fraught with meaning. 

I highly recommend it.  

Web site:
This book may have been received free of charge from a publisher or a publicist. That will NEVER have a bearing on my recommendations.

No comments:

Post a Comment